Texas LTC Class


Texas LTC Class

It is the responsibility of the person seeking a LTC to review the eligibility requirements and assure themselves that they meet these requirements. Class fees are not refundable.

A person is eligible for a LTC if he or she is:

At least 21 years of age. (or military 18 - 21 years)


Has not been convicted of a felony.

Is not currently charged with the commission of a felony, Class A or B misdemeanor or Disorderly Conduct.

Is not a fugitive from justice.

Is not a chemically dependent person. If a person has two or more convictions within the ten year period preceding the date of application for offenses involving the use of alcohol or a controlled substance, (Class B or greater) they are ineligible.

Is capable of exercising sound judgment with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun.

Has not in the preceding five years been convicted of a Class A or B misdemeanor or Disorderly Conduct.

Is fully qualified under federal and state law to purchase a handgun.

Is not delinquent in making child support payments.

Is not delinquent in the payment of a tax or other money collected by the comptroller, state treasurer, tax collector of a political subdivision, Alcohol Beverage Commission or any other agency or subdivision.

Is not currently restricted under a court protective order subject to a restraining order affecting a spousal relationship.

Has not, in the ten years preceding the date of application, been adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct violating a penal law in the grade of felony.

Has not made any material misrepresentation, or failed to disclose any material fact, in a application submitted pursuant to Section 411.174 or in a request for application submitted pursuant to Section 411.175. (This means you have not falsified any information on your application)


Regulations as of 10/2016